Dakota Gold congratulates Quartermain HOF induction

South Dakota miner Dakota Gold and its President, CEO and Director Jonathan Awde recently congratulated company co-chairman Robert Quartermain on his induction into the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame and for his significant contributions to the Canadian and international mining and exploration industry over his career.

The Canadian Mining Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who make Canada’s mining industry a global leader and who have demonstrated outstanding lifetime achievements in the industry. Quartermain was one of five industry leaders inducted at a formal ceremony attended by approximately 380 people in Toronto on August 18.

“The Canadian Mining Hall of Fame is the pinnacle of individual recognition within Canadian mining. It’s a great distinction for Robert and well-deserved acknowledgment of his extensive achievements in mineral exploration and mine development,” Awde said.

Pierre Gratton, chair of the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame and president and CEO of the Mining Association of Canada (MAC), added: “We are proud to recognize the leadership and commitment of our 2022 inductees to the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame. Mining plays an essential role in driving our economy forward and delivering the minerals and metals needed for a low carbon future. [The] five inductees represent the very best of mining excellence and greatly contributed to making Canada the leader in responsible mining.”

In addition to the induction into the Canadian Mining Hall of Fame, Quartermain has received many other awards over the years, notably MABC’s Mining Person of the Year (2017), CIM’s A.O. Dufresne Award (2016) and Vale Inco Medal (2010), PDAC’s Bill Dennis Award (2013), AME BC’s Murray Pezim Award (2009) and an Honorary DSc from UNB (2009).

Related posts