West Virginia Coal Hall of Fame Inducts 25th Class of Honorees

April 27, 2023 – The West Virginia Coal Hall of Fame, a joint initiative between the West Virginia Coal Mining Institute and the West Virginia Coal Association and housed at the WVU Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources in Morgantown, inducted its newest class of honorees at a ceremony April 18th at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Charleston.

This year’s honorees include H. Douglas Dahl, Retired CEO/President, Peabody Coal; Eddie Asbury, President, Southern Minerals, Inc.; Paul Lang, President/CEO, Arch Resources, Inc.; Stanley Suboleski, Senior VP of Massey, LC; and Thomas M. Wynne, Senior VP/COO, Alliance Resources

This is the 25th class of inductees for the West Virginia Coal Hall of Fame, which began in 1998.

Chris Hamilton, President of the WV Coal Association, said, “These individuals are mining industry trailblazers who have led industry-wide innovations and advancements in coal mine extractive techniques, mine safety programs, land restoration and philanthropy over the course of their long careers. They have had an incredibly positive impact on the coal industry and the State of West Virginia and are absolutely deserving of this honor.”

Gary Hartsog, President of the West Virginia Coal Mining Institute, said, “These individuals have tirelessly served the State of West Virginia and their contributions to the modern coal mining industry have been recognized, not only on a national, but also an international level. Their hard work and dedication for the continuous improvement of the coal mining industry has been exemplary and their induction to the West Virginia Coal Hall of Fame is more than deserving.”

Sources: coalzoom.com and wvcoal.com

Related posts